MAN OF THE MATCH TODAY:In team sport, a player of the match or man of the match award is often given to the outstanding player in a particular match. This can be a player from either team, although the player is generally chosen from the winning team

Sport’s bosses rename ‘Man of the Match’ award the ‘Player of the Match’ to make them more gender-neutral. Cricket’s man of the match awards has been retitled in the name of equality. Instead, the winning cricketer will be called ‘player of the match.

How do you know who the man of the match is?

Umpires, referee and Commentators decides the Man of the Match and Series. They decide using voting polls. Man of the matches in Cricket are given to players who has had the most impact in the game. He may be a player from the losing side also.


Who is most man of the match in football?

Lionel Messi leads Cristiano Ronaldo by a long way when it comes to the most MOTM awards in the past 10 years. It’s no surprise that the two GOATs have been the best player on the pitch more often than anyone else in the past decade.

The ‘Man of The Match’ award is given to the best player on the pitch during the game. The most complete footballer will always be a step ahead of anyone else.

Here, we talk about the player with the most ‘Man of The Match’ awards.

Most ‘Man of The Match’ awards

  1. Lionel Messi –225
  2. Cristiano Ronaldo –125
  3. Eden Hazard –93
  4. Zlatan Ibrahimovic –89
  5. Neymar –65
  6. Luis Suarez – 65
  7. Gareth Bale – 62
  8. Antoine Griezmann – 58
  9. Arturo Vidal –53
  10. Marco Reus –50


What is the difference between man of the match and player of the match?

In football, the “man of the match” (MOTM) award typically goes to a player on the winning side. Players who score a hat-trick, or goalkeepers who keep a clean sheet under pressure often get the award. Hat-trick scorers usually receive the match ball whether or not they are officially named man of the match.

The man of the match is often chosen by a television commentator or a sponsor. However, not all competitions have an official man of the match award, so sometimes accolades are given by websites or newspapers instead. In the Premier League, for example, a player receives a small black and gold trophy for their man of the match performance

In Australian rules football, the player of the game is often referred to as having been the “best on ground” (or “BOG”). Media outlets provide immediate, unofficial recognition that is largely honorary, often on a 5–4–3–2–1 or 3–2–1 voting basis. Officially, the AFL recognizes the player of the game as being the player awarded the maximum three votes by umpires in the Brownlow Medal count at season’s end. Exceptions are made during the season for certain reserved games such as the Western DerbyThe ANZAC Day clashQClash, and Showdown, where medallions are officially rewarded in presentations following the conclusion of the match. On the day of the AFL Grand Final, a player will be awarded the Norm Smith Medal as being the best on ground voted by an independent panel of Australian rules football experts.

In cricket, the man of the match award became a regular feature in Test matches in the mid-1980s. The man of the match title is usually awarded to the player whose contribution is seen as the most critical in winning the game.

In one match held on 3 April 1996, the whole team from New Zealand was awarded the Men of the Match award. It was the first instance when a whole team was awarded it. In a test match played between 15,16,17,18 January 1999 between South Africa vs West Indies, the whole South African team was awarded man of the match.

In Test matches, Jacques Kallis holds the record for the highest number of awards won, with 23 in 166 matches played. In ODIs, Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for the highest number of man of the match titles, with 62 awards in 463 matches played. Tendulkar is followed by Sanath Jayasuriya, who, along with Ricky Ponting, also holds the record for the most Man of the Match titles as captain. In the shortest form of the game, T20 Internationals, this record is held by Mohammad Nabi, who has won 13 awards in 87 matches.

In the Gaelic games of hurling and Gaelic football, the “man of the match” (IrishLaoch na hImeartha, “hero of the game”) is commonly awarded after important games. An unusual example was the 2008 All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Final, where the award was given to Brian Cody, the Kilkenny manager, rather than to a player.

In the women’s sports of camogie and ladies’ Gaelic football, the term “player of the match” (IrishLaoch na hImeartha, “hero of the game”) is used instead

In North American ice hockey, the three players who perform best in the game, often either those who accumulate the most points or outstanding goaltenders, are usually designated the Three stars of the game: the top-performing player is the first star, and so on. This tradition originated in the 1930s as a promotion for a “Three Star” brand of gasoline.

However, in international play (and outside North America), the three stars concept is rarely used. Instead, other leagues may issue awards to one player who performed best in the game.

Both codes of rugby, rugby league and rugby union, commonly have man of the match or player of the match awards. In televised or sponsored matches, a commentator or sponsor often decides who gets the award, and it is presented to the winner after the match.

Examples of man of the match awards in professional men’s rugby league are the Clive Churchill Medal in the National Rugby League Grand Final, the Karyn Murphy Medal in the NRL Women’s Grand Final, the Lance Todd Trophy in the Challenge Cup final and the Harry Sunderland Trophy in the Super League Grand Final.

In college basketball and college football, the two collegiate sports with the most television coverage in the United States, a top player from each team is usually honored as “players of the game.” These athletes usually cannot collect material prizes due to NCAA regulations. Instead, television companies broadcasting the game or corporate sponsors will often make donations to the scholarship funds of each school in the names of the winning players

In college basketball’s Final Four events, a Most Outstanding Player award is given, for performance across both the semi-final and championship game. A Most Outstanding Player award is also given for each of the four regionals, based upon performances in the regional semifinals (Sweet Sixteen) and final (Elite Eight).